Accidental Early Bird

Jet lag has me up before 5am. I’ve discovered that I’m only a morning person when adjusting for the first few days from jet lag. Funny enough as much of a night owl that I am I always seem to enjoy those early mornings when I am accidentally up and vow to make it more of a habit.

Those vows never seem to last very long though. There’s a beautiful clam as the purple clouds begin to rise and the birds chirp away. The street outside is quiet. Everything is still, and the rush of the coming day seems far enough away that it’s possible to enjoy just a few moments of peace—the peace of the unknown but promising day ahead, the peace of a subtle stillness that if tapped into can carry you through the day.

A new day. A fresh start with things yet to be discovered. Maybe I’ll remember how good this early morning feels and tap into it more often in the future (we’ll see). Or, maybe it will take another trip in order for me to enjoy a sunrise again. Either way, I’m here now and thankful to God for a new morning with new potential and new memories yet to be made.

Up with the birds

Up with the birds

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemplations, Travel

Leave a Reply

