Just a Page

Screen shot 2014-08-28 at 9.09.43 PM

I was still a bit jet lagged, sitting at my sister’s bridal shower party focused on rediscovering the sensation of flavorful food, when a friend of mine turned to me and said, “so what did you bring back from Kenya?”

“Ringworm,” my jet lagged brain replied. We both laughed and then went on to talk about her daughter’s current trip to Honduras and the joys and pains of living outside your home country. What did I bring back from Kenya?—memories of emotional highs and lows, stories that probably wouldn’t make much sense to someone who wasn’t there at the time. I brought back the burden of the hurt that I saw but couldn’t fix. But, I also brought back feelings of unexplainable joy from being a part of a community that loved God and sought Him constantly.

I think the question is more how have I changed as opposed to what did I bring back. Because I have changed—so much sometimes that I don’t know how to explain it. Travel does that to you mostly because of the incredible people that you meet along the way. There is some sort of desperate connection that can take place where two people who have never met suddenly find themselves thrown into circumstances so overwhelming and unfamiliar that fast, almost unexplainable friendships happen.

Maybe it’s the type of people that travel attracts, but I think it has more to do with the layers that are torn off when you leave everything that’s comfortable and enter somewhere where you can barely communicate, break cultural norms on a daily bases, and become completely dependant on people who yesterday were total strangers. It’s completely petrifying at times, and once you live through it you leave changed.

I think that’s why travel is so addicting. Once you find that yes you can survive outside the “safe” the “comfortable” of what you know, so many incredible doors are open to you, so many adventures, so many amazing new people that you never would have met if you’d stayed safely in your own home. Yes, sometimes you come back with ringworm, or other unwelcome side affects, but it’s worth it for the way that you are molded into someone new—someone who sees more then just the familiar.

I’m getting ready to get on a plane again. I’m trying not think too much as it’s a bit scary standing, once again, on the edge of the unknown. What’s it going to be like this time? Is it safe? Will I have enough resources to make it? What will the day to day look like? I have no idea. All I know is that this is where God wants me. He has given me that peace. He has given me this opportunity to travel, and it’s all in His capable hands. So here we go. One more page, one more chapter to a story that I never could have written for myself.

8 Comments

Filed under Kenya, Photography, Travel

8 responses to “Just a Page

  1. Marilyn Uehle

    Good thoughts – well written. I pray that you will have safe travel. I know you will have many more experiences which I pray will draw you even closer to your Heavenly Father. Love you. Mom

  2. It’s always interesting to gain more and more pieces to who you are while traveling . I think it’s a great idea to write about it and put it all into perspective 😉 great read

  3. Aww thanks Mom 🙂 just made it to my gate. Should be boarding soon. Love you too.

  4. I love reading your blogs when I can Ruth. Your perspective is refreshing and delightful. Looking forward to many more!
    Teresa

  5. Hi Ruth. Good to read your blog. God will replace the past hurt with future joy. Are you off to Kenya? We will be there next January maybe we can get together then.

    Praying for you.

Leave a Reply

