Unsupervised Memories

She thought we were a school out on a weekend camping trip. I smiled and said “no, we’re from a children’s home.” I’m sure we looked like a school 17 kids 5 adults, four big tents, and an extra tent for all the food. The kids had Monday off school due to a holiday so kind of on a whim Alyssa and I decided to organize a camping trip.

The weekend was a blast. We camped on the lake, the kids sang songs the entire hour drive from our house to the camp sight. We split up into teams and thanks to Alyssa enjoyed everything from a scavenger hunt to three legged races. The kids made friends with some of the other campers, and we spent a lot of time on the boat dock just hanging our feet in the water.

I have to confess that my favorite part of the camping trip was actually when Jeremy and his friend Jason took the kids for awhile while Alyssa, Ruthann, and I escaped to enjoy some amazing food at the restaurant attached to the camp site. I have to say I was a little apprehensive leaving 17 kids with the guys. All I could think of was the giant lake and Jeremy’s philosophy of letting the kids run free. But, I let go (sort of) I’m learning anyway and for a sweet hour and a half I enjoyed some good girl talk and some incredibly amazing tacos.

When we came back, Jason was sitting on the grass with a couple of kids and Jeremy had gone off to take a shower. The kids had scattered—climbing trees, sitting on the dock, playing with new friends, trying to catch fish with a stick. They were all happy, having fun, and everyone was still in one piece. So I relaxed, let them be kids and worked on not worrying as much. It’s a freeing feeling (a bit scary) but at the end of the day it’s nice knowing that I can trust my kids to be responsible and as hard as it is for me I’m learning to step back a little. I’m working on letting go of having to know where they are every second. I’m learning to let them make their own memories and enjoy some times of just being unsupervised kids.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Unsupervised Memories

  1. Alice THODOROPOULOS

    You sound like a ‘Mom’…

Leave a Reply

