Lasting Memories

Love birds

Love birds

 

Last Thursday I headed to Florida, but it wasn’t a happy spring break trip to Florida it was for my grandma’s funeral. I was put in charge of collecting pictures for the photo board display at the service and also creating a background slide show to run during the visitation.

Grandma and her camera

Grandma and her camera

I love pictures especially old black and whites and also those adorable cute kid pictures, so I spent several hours pouring over my grandma’s photo collection. I know I inherited some of my love for pictures from my Grandma Pontier. She had books and books of neatly organized and labeled albums lined up on shelves in her bedroom. Every grandchild has a book stuffed with baby pictures and almost every out of state trip earned a book as well. My pictures are nowhere near as organized as Grandma’s, but I’ve massed quite a collection myself.

Due to a limited amount of time before the funeral, I didn’t finished the slideshow to my satisfaction, so on the 13 hour car ride home I decided to finish it. When I think of my grandma, her love for pictures is one thing that I am very thankful for. The memories she captured on film I’m sure will continue to touch generations for years to come.

4 Comments

Filed under Contemplations, Grief

4 responses to “Lasting Memories

  1. Ms. Ruth Pontier

    You did a BEAUTIFUL piece of work on this, Ruth! And I have SO enjoyed reading your blogs – GREAT work – – SO expressive – and SO WELL DONE! Thanks for sharing your ‘heart’ – a ‘blessing’ to read. God bless in MANY ways in the days ahead!! A.Ruth Pontier

  2. Thank you so much I really appreciate it, and thanks for reading.

  3. What a wonderful tribute to your grandma. Love the photo of her holding the camera.

Leave a Reply

