To Butterflies, 2013, and New Beginnings

I could write a fluffy post about how wonderful life was in 2012, but if I’m honest I would have to say that it has been one of the hardest years of my life. I had a stressful, time consuming job (note to self, if your life goal is to travel and help people around the world do not agree to run a small town newspaper) see Pageants, Parades, and Tractor Pulls. I lost a very dear friend to a brain aneurism see When Words Aren’t Enough and For Alice followed by my grandpa getting very sick (he’s doing much better now). I lived in an unfinished apartment with limited electricity and no running water see Bucket Head, Camping Without the Stars, and Weaving Through the Chaos (this situation has since improved). I had to live on a very tight income, was haunted by the general feeling of being stuck, and –to top it all off—four days before Christmas my grandparents got into a car accident see When Your Forgettery Works Better Than Your Memory and Walk With Me (Grandpa is now settled in an assisted living facility and Grandma is still in ICU).

At times, I felt like I was living the life other people felt I should live and not living the life I really wanted to live. I’ve cried a lot, dealt with depression, and at times felt like life was a waste, but as the year has finally come to an end I am thankful that many circumstances have changed and am ready for a fresh new start.

But, in spite of all the crazy, I was thinking the other day that I’ve actually gotten to do some pretty cool things this year including:

Shooting a wedding with the help of my amazing friend Treena

I Do

Running three 5Ks with my good friend Chelsie

Running Buddies

Seeing Lindsey Stirling in concert (amazing)

Love this girl

Taking a birthday trip with two incredible friends to San Francisco

Best 25th Birthday Ever

Flying to Atlanta to visit another incredible friend

Hanging with Lindsey

Attempting windowsill gardening with varying degrees of success

Trial and Error Gardening

Getting to write for the amazing magazine Rejoice Always

Rejoice Always

Spending time with my little buddy Hailey

Hailey

And I got my passport renewed, so who knows what is next.

I’m looking forward to 2013 even though I have no idea what it is going to bring. I decided to close the newspaper at the end of the year and plan on moving to St Louis. My goal is to work, save up money and move to Kenya sometime in May to hopefully work in an orphanage or with street kids. There are a lot of unknowns and what ifs, but I feel at peace and am hopeful about the future. The last artist I interviewed for the paper carved beautiful gourds and gave me one of her pieces as a good bye present a butterfly she said the symbol of new beginnings.

New Beginnings

5 Comments

Filed under Contemplations, Photography, Travel

5 responses to “To Butterflies, 2013, and New Beginnings

  1. Happy New Year 2013 to you!

  2. Ecclesiastes 3:2…a time to plant and a time to uproot.
    I truly believe that this means more than actually planting/uprooting plants. It believe it also means where you are in life. For a season you were planted in small town USA running a newspaper but it has come time for you to uproot and find where God wants you planted next! You may not be 100% sure right now where that is but continue to pray and God will lead your heart and mind to that answer! Whatever it is I wish you and everyone who crosses your path, many blessings!!

    • Thank you Becky what a perfect verse. Life has so many changes, and I am thankful for the time running the newspaper. It has taught me so much and I have met so many great people through it including you! Thank you for your encouraging words.

Leave a Reply

