Do I Really Want to Grow Up?

Do I want to grow up?

I realized the other day that I’m getting old. I know 25 isn’t really that old, but what I mean is I’ve had a shift in the way I think, what I talk about with my friends, and how I spend my free time. A couple weeks ago, I was genuinely excited about having an entire Saturday off so that I could paint my kitchen. I think that’s when it hit me that I’m more of an adult now than I am a kid. I also get excited over certain birthday presents (like say a vacuum), enjoy taking a good nap once in awhile (something I said as a kid that I would never enjoy) and intentionally add spinach and other grown up foods to my dishes. Weird, I know who would have thought.

Change is a funny thing when it happens so slowly that you don’t even realize it is happening. I’ve been blessed/cursed with the fact that I look much younger than I am. People tell me all the time that I look 16 which most would think is a good thing, but it gets annoying when people treat you like you’re sixteen long after high school is starting to become a fading memory.

About a year ago, I was out shopping with a friend of mine, who also looks much younger than she is, and the young guy behind the counter started bending over backwards to help me. “He was so flirting with you,” my friend told me after we left. “I know, I told her. “Maybe after he finishes high school and then college we can talk.”

I felt old over Labor Day weekend when we stopped to pick up my sister from the college she is attending. It was about eleven at night and there were kids everywhere laughing, screaming, jumping off walls, and just being goofy. I couldn’t wait to pick up my sister and head away from the mayhem. Then I got to thinking it wasn’t too long ago that I would have felt right at home on that very same campus. What happened?

Honestly, I wouldn’t want to go back. I’m done with all-nighters, loud dorms, and freshman drama. I loved college while I was there, but each stage of life is fun in its own way. Not all parts of growing up are fun. I was reminded of that fact on Wednesday when a short visit to the clinic cost me 93 dollars and 60 cents, yuck. While it’s not fun paying rent every month and doing your own laundry, I love cooking my own meals, having the freedom to pick unusual paint colors for my walls, and not having to be home by 10 p.m. I guess, growing up has its perks.

It’s easy to want to live in the past thinking “yesteryears” were so much better than what is here today, but part of that is because when looking back, it is easy to forget the challenges and only remember the good memories. Today is here. It’s not always perfect, but it’s not all bad either. I love growing up, growing older, getting to see new things, and having new responsibilities. Each new day brings an adventure, and I don’t want to miss the good times that I can have now by wishing that things would go back to how they were.

What made you realize you were growing up?

What do you like most about your current stage in life?

Is growing up overrated?

5 Comments

Filed under Contemplations, Home Improvement, Humor

5 responses to “Do I Really Want to Grow Up?

  1. I’m still a teenager and all that buuut…

    1. I realized I was growing up when, a few weeks ago, I went in and helped my old fifth grade teacher. I was like, “Whoa, I swear, I was never that young!”

    2. I like that it’s cool again to act like a little kid. I remember in third through sixth grade, we all wanted to grow up too fast, so we acted like all the “little kid” stuff was stupid. I remember that in fifth grade, my mom got me a CARE BEARS book cover, and I was soooo embarrassed about it. *slaps forehead* But you probably don’t need to know about the life of a teenager. Moving on…

    3. *Jaaw drops* You did not just ask that question! Just kidding. But seriously… I don’t think it’s overrated. *Raises fist up in the air* I will always be a kid at heart!

  2. This post was refreshing. So many people often say that those college days are the “best days of your life.” Its so depressing to think that way!

  3. Thank you.You are right. There is so much more to life after college which is of course a very good thing.

  4. Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for your post and for taking the time to answer the above questions so honestly. Your words nearly made me cry. As you requested, I only read your post, but did not approve it for other people to read. Although, I have several friends who are struggling with many of the same issues you addressed about growing up in an extreme fundamentalist environment. I believe other people would benefit from reading your words and hearing your perspective. So many times we walk through pain on our own when other people who have survived similar experiences could help us on our journey.

    Stay strong my friend. Keeping growing. Enjoy your freedom. Find rest in the love of God the Father. You are so right, life is about so much more that just appearances. Your words touched me deeply, and I believe your story has the power to touch even more people. It is beautiful knowing that you can raise your children in a different environment/mindset than you faced growing up. Praying for you, and for my other friends as well, who continue to struggle with the many issues that you addressed in your response.

Leave a Reply

