Weaving Through the Chaos

I came home to find my kitchen had been moved into my living room: dishes, stove, refrigerator, the works. I suppose one of the drawbacks of having your dad as your landlord is that you don’t get a lot of warning when major construction is about to take place. On the up side, my dad and brother installed a beautiful new floor in the kitchen, and having all the appliances moved provided the ideal time for me to paint. Now just the ceiling is left to do before the refrigerator and stove can return to their happy home, and I can hopefully go back to having a little more order in my life.

Mornings have never been my thing so trying to make breakfast in the middle of a maze of extra appliances has been interesting to say the least. I set my coffee mug on top of what I thought was a stable shelf. It spilled and while I was cleaning up that mess, I managed to dump the sugar canister over as well. What can I say, I’m just talented like that. Thankfully, I had room to maneuver the vacuum cleaner and didn’t manage to spill anything else before making it out the door for the day.

Life can be chaotic. Sometimes it’s little things sometimes bigger things. Sometimes it’s a domino effect that threatens to mess with your sanity. But as the saying goes, things often get worse before they get better just like with my kitchen which now has a fresh coat of paint and a brand new floor. But, it’s not a fun place to be in the middle of all the construction juggling tools and trying to scrub all the paint off at the end of the day. It’s messy and frustrating but then again so are people some days.

It’s work living in the in-between whether that be living in the middle of a construction project or waiting to see where a relationship goes or living in-between two jobs. Uncertainty can throw a person off causing frustration and even anxiety, but it’s a stage, a phase, a little segment of a much bigger picture. Sometimes you just have to hang in a little bit longer and pray you survive.

It will be nice having this remodeling job finished. I’m looking forward to returning to semi-normal life. Although, the whole experience of living in an unfinished apartment is one thing that started this blog see Bucket Head and Camping Without the Stars.

I’m not a neat freak, but I do like being able to find my dishes and make a cup of chai in the morning without having to vacuum half a cup of sugar off the floor. But, after having to live this way for awhile, I’m sure my living room will feel huge once all of the appliances are put back where they belong.

Life and its stages can be quite the adventure but as C. S. Lewis said in his book The Voyager of the Dawn Treader, “Adventures are never fun while you are having them.” While this maybe true, how boring would life be without a little adventure? As long as you survive the adventures, they make for some great stories later on and act as a measure for future challenges that come along. Survive it, and you’ll be ready for the next “fun” challenge that comes your way.

3 Comments

Filed under Contemplations, Home Improvement, Humor

3 responses to “Weaving Through the Chaos

  1. Great post today. Thanks so much for sharing. I enjoy reading your blog very much!

    It pays to write:

    Writers Wanted – Writing Jobs Available

  2. Thank you for your kind words and thanks for reading.

  3. Pingback: To Butterflies, 2013, and New Beginnings | SimplyContemplating

Leave a Reply

