Putting the World on Hold

Some weeks my mind goes blank when it comes to writing. It’s a rare occasion because I love to write so much that I usually blog about once a week, journal, then of course there is the newspaper which often comes out to two to three stories plus a weekly editorial, and I recently started writing a monthly article for Rejoice Always a magazine in Northern Ireland. I love to write so much that I think I would write even if no one ever read a single word. Although, it is much more rewarding when people do actually do read it.

Writing helps me process and connect with experiences and people, some of whom I’ve never even met. It makes me slow down and truly experience an event, such as a hike through the woods, or capture a moment like listening to the sound of rain hit the roof as I fall asleep.

When I write, it’s as if life is put on pause just for a second, and I get to wander through the enchanting world of words picking out that perfect phrase to describe a feeling. I stop and taste the wind, feel the touch of spring day slowly awakening, revisit a memory, a sound, or an elusive moment of pure contentment. I know I can’t stay in that safe place forever, but writing helps me hold on to it just a little bit longer. The world slowly starts to make sense to my confused little head.

It seems to be true that the more you know the more you know you don’t know. Sometimes that feeling can be depressing. When I graduated from college I felt like I had less answers and more questions then when I started not only about life and my area of study but about myself. Writing helps the world make a little more sense even if it is only for a moment. But, it is not only my little world. There are times when I’ve written about something and someone will say, “that’s it. That is exactly how I feel.” Two worlds connect, and that is a beautiful thing. A while back I stumbled upon the blog Everyday-isa and starting following it. I look forward to each new post because they are so deep and full of feeling. I always seem to walk away from her words feeling refreshed, challenged, and inspired.

In college, one of my communication teachers referred to certain experiences as an apocalypse which, in old English, refers to something being uncovered or revealed. I think this idea of apocalypse is why most passionate artists work seeking to uncover a truth or a feeling, something almost other worldly, a connection with the soul. It is a God-given piece of us that makes us human—the desire for something more than this world, the hope of something almost magical that causes someone to forget where they are and imagine so much more. But, in the end, this feeling allows us to fully enjoy this life living each day with wonder and feeling.

Some people paint others sing. Some people sculpt, run, dance, and create films that make other people cry. Whatever it is that makes you feel alive, do it. Find beauty and cultivate it. Find your talent and grow it even when that means failing at times and having days when you have no idea what to write about.

6 Comments

Filed under Contemplations

6 responses to “Putting the World on Hold

  1. Eki Akhwan

    I like what you write in the second and third paragraphs. Those are exactly what I think and feel about writing. I wrote a similar thing in my blog once — in Indonesian, my native language.

  2. Thank you, I wish I could read Indonesian 🙂 Blogging is such an enriching experience.

  3. I really enjoyed this post. I can’t say that I enjoy writing enough to do it with no one reading, but I have discovered the same clarity when I write that you mentioned.

    I’m interested in reading future posts.

  4. I for pleasure, be it printed or not. Thansk for shiaring your lovely, inspiring words

  5. Thank you I enjoy reading yours as well.

Leave a Reply

