No Regrets

A friend of mine showed me a short youtube film the other day called “Fifty People, One Question.” It was interesting. A camera crew went to a busy area and filmed fifty different people going throughout their day and asked each person the same question. I loved watching how people reacted to the question, processing how they will respond, then sharing a part of their heart. The beauty of the film is not only seeing a wide the variety of faces but hearing about what really matters to people.

The question in the particular video I watched was, “What is your biggest life regret?” A couple people said they didn’t have any regrets, another said I have so many. Some wished they had pursued their dream to be a musician, a couple wished they were younger. One man flat out said, “I can’t answer that question.”

A lot regretted something in regard to their education, not spending enough time with a family member, or losing connection with a friend. One man said, “Not taking enough deep breaths.” A girl regretted not traveling more when she had the opportunity. One of my favorite answers was from an elderly man who wished he had married his childhood sweetheart 50 years ago. She moved away, but they reconnected 50 years later and had now been married a year.

One lady answered, “I try not to regret anything. Take life as it comes, enjoy it, and don’t bother with regrets. They are not worth the effort.” There is so much wisdom in the film’s collage of answers. People matter, dreams matter, traveling is enriching, family is important, learning is essential.

You can’t turn back the clock and become ten years younger. You shouldn’t spend life agonizing over regrets, but it is helpful to learn from other people’s. I found it interesting that not one person said they wished they had bought a nicer car, or TV. No one agonized over not spending more time collecting designer shoes because in the end, it’s not about stuff.

Next month I’m going to take a trip with two very good friends from college. Our birthdays are all around the same time, and I’m so excited about being able to spend time with both of them. My friend Lydia found some super saver economy tickets to San Francisco, California, so we’re just going to go.

I’m looking forward to reconnecting with friends, visiting a city I’ve never been to, taking time out to breathe (hopefully by the ocean) and doing some journaling. I don’t want to look back at life and regret not taking out more time to actually enjoy life. I don’t want to look back and wish I’d spent more time staying connected with friends. I’m so thankful for the opportunity to go on this trip. Yeah, someday I probably should save up money for a better car, but my little retro-mobile (while nothing fancy) still runs, so I’m happy. This trip is going to be priceless, something I know I won’t regret.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

