Pageants, Parades, and Tractor pulls

What’s the point really? I find myself stopping so many times through out a typical week asking this question. Maybe I over analyze. In fact, I know that I do. I think it’s part of being a writer, but when I’m driving by myself and honestly stop to take a look at life, this question always comes up.

Writing for a newspaper in a town of about 800 people I often find myself writing about parades, pageants, and tractor pulls not the type of events that grab my interest. Please don’t get me wrong. I really enjoy my job. People in the community have been so supportive, and I have met so many interesting people like the lady I interviewed today who makes amazing cheese cakes.

But, at the end of the day I often feel restless. Maybe it’s because I didn’t grow up observing Deer Day and going on hay rides. Maybe it’s because for a long time my dream has been to work with orphans or refugees in Africa. But the truth is, I’m here not there and because of that, I often lose my sense of purpose.

Then there are those moments when it hits me. On a Wednesday night while working with a group of “Sparkies” at church. A kindergartener, whose dad is in jail, interrupts the lesson yelling, “I know something. I know something.”

“What’s that?” the leader asks. “Jesus ‘woves’ us,” he responds hugging himself.

Then there’s my little buddy Hailey who stops by the newspaper office with her bike. “Can you give me a ride home?”

“Sure, just give me a minute to finish some things up here.” She usually types on the antique typewriter in the office while she waits. Then I drive her and her bike up the hill.

“Your like my big sister,” she told me the other day. “I always wanted a big sister.”

Purpose— sometimes it’s not in the things you expect it to be in, but it’s there. Just look in a child’s eyes. That always gets me back on track.

5 Comments

Filed under Contemplations

5 responses to “Pageants, Parades, and Tractor pulls

  1. Lydia

    Ruthie, this is really good! Thanks for sharing. I agree with you…these observations and feelings are so, so true.

  2. Thank you my friend. I know this post reflects many conversations that we have had.

  3. Powerful. Touching article! Love it!

  4. I responded to your “To Butterflies, 2013 and New Beginnings” with Ecclesiastes 3:2 and how through life we go through many seasons. This blog post brings up another example of that. We are sometimes brought into the lives of others forever and sometimes for just a season. For example…Hailey! I have no doubt that she will cherish all those times she got to sit at the office with you and how this sweet person would take time out of her life to help her out! I have had people like that in my life and to this day appreciate it far more than words can even say! I know we have only actually seen each other in person a few times but being able to be a part of the paper and get to know you that way has been a blessing. I love writing and photography and I LOVED being able to contribute what I love to do. Again, I wish you many blessings in seasons to come!

  5. So true. Thank you for the reminder, and it was such a pleasure having you contribute to the paper each week. Please keep writing and keep up with your photography. You have a great eye for it. Have you ever thought about starting a blog? They really are a lot of fun and a great outlet for both writing and photography.

Leave a Reply

